Showing posts with label Armie Hammer. Show all posts
Showing posts with label Armie Hammer. Show all posts

Tuesday, April 3, 2012

2012: Week 13: Mirror Mirror

Mirror Mirror

Genre: Adventure, Comedy

Main Players: Julia Roberts, Lily Collins, Armie Hammer, Nathan Lane

General Gist: A new take on the Snow White classic with a little more focus on the evil queen.

Tiff's Take:
It's sort of strange that there are two variations of Snow White coming out this year, isn't it? You wonder why that happens. All the sudden there's this interest in it again. (And not to mention the new TV show Once Upon A Time. Who's watching that? I love it!) Both movies look very different. The other one, with Kristen Stewart, looks much more serious and dramaesque. This one more light hearted and fun.

I would say that's exactly what it ended up being too. This movie reminded me of one of the classic Disney princess cartoons but without it being a cartoon. Does that make sense? It was fun and wholesome and I can easily see why it was rated PG. It was very much a happy ending love story without a whole lot of depth. But that's fine because I think it was meant for a younger audience. I think adults will enjoy this but probably not as much as the pre-teens.

As far as the acting, Julia Roberts was excellent as the evil queen. You don't often get to see her in a role like that. Lily Collins was also good as the sweet, innocent princess. And I couldn't put my finger on where I'd seen the prince, played by Armie Hammer, before until I just looked it up. He was the "other guy" in J. Edgar. Very different role but well done.

Tiff's Rate: Matinee (Unless you're an 8-12 year old girl. Then maybe Friday Night worthy.)

Deb's Take:
Well, considering I am a romantic at heart, I suppose a movie with a princess, prince and evil queen is always spot on. I have to say, I knew this movie was geared towards a PG audience and went in with that view. Not to much depth so a younger audience could enjoy it. I really loved it. Like Tiff, I felt Julia Roberts did an excellent job. She was really amazing in this role. I think the costumes were amazing. The adaptations to make the movie modern were clever and unique. I was impressed with the twist on the 7 dwarves and the mirror. I can't say there wasn't a character I didn't like, and completely enjoyed. This is a great family movie. I took my 8 year old daughter (who is above a hopeless romantic) and she thought it was great too.

Deb's Rate: Good Friday night Family movie.

Preview: The winner of our giveaway coming up!

Thursday, November 17, 2011

Week 46: J Edgar

This week we were slightly influenced by Tiff's father-in-law and decided to got see J Edgar. Not much explaining to do...a movie about someone's version of his life.

My ignorance of politics, government and the like came forward again as I watched the movie, mostly because I didn't realize the extensive influence he had on so many different areas, the card catalog systems, finger printing, FBI development...all very interested and intriguing.

J Edgar was played by Leonardo DiCaprio. I like the way movies keep the actors in the same role for a full length of life, the make-up artists are amazing. DiCaprio did a good job in this role, I think the hardest part was J Edgar was portrayed very oddly. He came across as slighly mental. Maybe he really was that way, but I never would have guessed it based on his accomplishments.

His "partner" and second hand man was played by Armie Hammer, again, watching him age over the years is pretty amazing.

I don't feel like I can say too much about the movie itself without giving away the details (that apparently a lot of people already knew, I just didn't) The actors were extremely believable, the story was pretty intriging, and the make-up was impressive. Hoover's character was sort of creepy though. Whether or not his character was accurately depicted I am not sure, but if it is, he was a "different" sort of man, but then of course many people say the "brilliant" people of the world are the closest to the craziest.

Overall decent movie, not necessarily my cup of tea, but good.

See you in a few!

Week 46: J. Edgar

We went and saw J. Edgar for week 46.  My father-in-law really wanted us to go see this one for obvious reasons being a former FBI agent and all.  He actually saw it the night it came out and was curious what my take would be.  His take wasn't very good.  I haven't had a chance to talk to him about it yet though.

First of all I should mention that if I didn't marry into the family I did I probably wouldn't be able to tell you who J. Edgar Hoover was.  That's the sad truth when it comes to my knowledge of certain US history.  I get ridiculed on a daily basis from my husband.  Can I confess something else?  Even though I have been apprised of who J. Edgar Hoover is I wouldn't bet my life on the fact that I could have told you who it was if I was put on the spot.  I'm just being honest here. 

That being said, I really had no idea what to expect with this movie.  I had no prejudices one way or the other.  Because of this I will say I was completely shocked with the turn of events.  Obviously, this is someones opinion of J. Edgar Hoover so you really don't know what is fact or fiction but wow.  This was one colorful guy.

This movie portrayed Hoover as ruthless, egotistical, paranoid, a mama's boy (almost to the point of creepy) and gay.  I had no idea.  I can't say this movie really gave an opinion one way or the other about the FBI in general.  It was more about Hoover as a person.  And I wouldn't say it was the most flattering depiction.  Leonardo DiCaprio played Hoover and he was fantastic.  I heard there was Oscar talk for his role.  I think it would be well deserved.  Judi Dench played his mom, Naomi Watts his secretary and Armie Hammer as his "second in command".  All did great. This movie was sort of dark and creepy but I would recommend it.   

To Sum it up: Well done, well acted and very fascinating.