Showing posts with label 2013. Show all posts
Showing posts with label 2013. Show all posts

Sunday, January 5, 2014

Holiday Season Movies: A Quick Summary

We're back!

We took a little break in 2013, but we decided we really missed our weekly movies. We didn't like being out of the loop.  Mostly, we missed the time we spent together going to the movies. So here we are.

Before our first official review for 2014, we thought we'd give you a little breakdown of the movies we saw over the holidays.  There were some good ones in there we think are worth mentioning.  Five movies in less than a month. Guess we are coming back with a bang!

Frozen:
Deb:  This movie was the best Princess Disney movie I have seen in a very long time.  The music was superb, the concept was different and it was about sisters!! I would give this one an Opening Day review.  You and your kids will love it.

Tiff:  I really liked this movie too but the beginning story line was a little rushed and weak.  From an adult standpoint.  My kids however, loved it.  I liked the idea that true love wasn't just a romantic concept.   I give this one a Friday Night rating.

Saving Mr. Banks:
Deb: So different than what I thought it was going to be. I love a true story.  This one made me want to go out and buy the Mary Poppins Series.  Great acting.  (not necessarily a kid movie, they would probably get bored.) Friday Night at its best.

Tiff:  This was definitely a deeper movie than what you think you're getting into.  Very well done and acted.  Agree with Deb, not a good kids movie.  Definitely worth a Friday Night.

The Wolf of Wall Street:
Deb: WOW, WOW and WOW.  Pushing movies to their limit in more ways than one.  I did really love it! Great Acting, Crazy out of control story.  (Lots of nudity, sex and drugs so be aware).  Friday Night Rating from me.

Tiff:  This movie was dirty and wrong but so very good.  Lots of sex, lots of drugs and more than a  little uncomfortableness.  Make sure you go with an appropriate companion.  Leo was really great in this.  I give this an Opening Night.  

American Hustle:
Deb:  Think 70's at its height.  Great job with setting the stage, costumes and personalities.  The movie did get a little long for me, the story was lengthy but I never guessed how it would end.  Matinee

Tiff:  Didn't get to see this one.  Maybe I can check it out on Netflix someday.

The Secret Life of Walter Mitty:
Deb:  This one was Quirky at best.  I have a hard time with movies that push the limit on reality.  This one did, but the relationship was endearing and the message was positive.  Great Rental     

Tiff:  Didn't get to see this one either.  Wasn't super interested.  I guess I'm fine with missing this one.


What movies did you see over the holiday that you think are worth mentioning?

Friday, March 8, 2013

2013: Bonus: Identity Thief

Identity Thief

Genre: Comedy

Main Players: Jason Bateman, Melissa McCarthy

General Gist:  A Colorado guy's identity is stolen by a woman in Florida.  When he realizes the police aren't going to do anything about it he goes to find her himself. 

Tiff's Take: 
I had high hopes for this movie.  The previews looked hilarious and I knew it was a movie I could get Russ to go with me.  We both love Jason Bateman so that was a plus.  And I love almost any of Melissa McCarthy's roles.  So date night it was! 

I have to say we were both a little disappointed.  It was a little slow at times and a little longer then I think was necessary.  There were some scenes that seemed like they could have just been taken out.  Both actors were good and funny but definitely not either of their best movies.  That aside, there were some really funny parts.  Being Modern Family fans, we did enjoy the few scenes with Eric Stonestreet (Cam) though.  But overall, just not quite enough funny.
 
So, although I had a great date, it was another excuse for Russ to say, "I don't really like going to movies".  Oh well.  You win some, you lose some.  And I'll keep bugging him to go with me every time I can.   

Tiff's Rate: Matinee

Friday, February 15, 2013

2013: Side Effects

Side Effects

Genre: Drama, Thriller

Main Players: Rooney Mara, Jude Law, Channing Tatum, Catherine Zeta-Jones

General Gist:  A woman's life falls to pieces when the side effects of her medication get the best of her.

Deb's Take: 
Fun little facts.  Rooney Mara's family is really big in the football NFL world. She earned her degree in international social policy and psychology.  Her older sister is also an actress.

The reason I looked her up is because she is sort of a freaky actress.  I first saw her in Girl with the Dragon Tattoo, and now in this movie.  I don't know what I expected to find out about her personal life, maybe that she was a troubled teen who lived on the streets, under a bridge, until she was discovered by an agent who gave her a break and she still lives in a small studio apartment in downtown Detroit.  HA..look her up, that is so not her story!

Anyway, what I think that says about her, is that she is a pretty good actress, because I truly believed she was a very troubled individual in this movie (as well as Dragon Tattoo).  This movie was not what I expected.  In fact I had a coat ready in case I needed to hide my face.  Not that kind of movie.  The other thing, I sort of pride myself on being able to figure out the twists in a movie.  This one had me jumping around all over the place, up to the end I wasn't really sure what was going to happen.  Like I said, Rooney was good.  Jude Law was pretty good too, and Catherine Zeta-Jones really impressed me.  I am always a little surprised at her talents. 

All that being said, the movie wasn't bad.  I think it wove a good thriller weave of webs.  I can't say it was anything magnificent, but it was entertaining.  Not one that will rate up there with my top 10, but could have been worse!

Deb's Rate: Matinee

Tiff's Take:
I was excited about this movie because I LOVED Rooney Mara in The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo.  I thought she portrayed Lisbeth Salander perfectly.  And Lisbeth Salander is probably one of my favorite fictional characters so it makes it easy to like Rooney Mara too.  Following my logic?  I know, sometimes I have a hard time separating fiction and reality.   

Well, the previews for this leaves you very confused.  Who is the bad guy or good guy or what really happens?  At least that's how I felt watching them.  The movie almost leaves you just as confused until the very end.  And even then I think I'm still a little confused.  So does the good guy (and by guy I mean guy or girl-I don't want to spoil it) end up being the bad guy when it's all said and done?  I'm not an over thinker when it comes to my movie watching so I didn't sit and ponder it too long but this movie definitely keeps you on your toes.  Isn't that what makes these movies good? 

It was a really interesting story and the actors really played their parts well.  Especially Rooney and Jude.  Channing Tatum was just okay I guess.  His role was more minor then I thought it would be.  Honestly his part could have been played by anyone and it wouldn't have made much of a difference.  I still love Rooney Mara even if she seems to be drawn to slightly disturbing characters.  Maybe that's why I like her.  And when it comes to suspenseful thrillers, I think this one hit it right on the head. 

Tiff's Rate: Friday Night

Thursday, February 14, 2013

2013: Bonus: Hansel & Gretel:Witch Hunters

Hansel & Gretel: Witch Hunters

Genre: Action, Fantasy, Horror

Main Players: Jeremy Renner, Gemma Arterton, Famke Janssen

General Gist:  Spin on the fairy tale of Hansel and Gretel

Deb's Take: 
This was definitely a spin off of the story of Hansel and Gretel.  Nothing like a fairy tale.  I went to this with the hubby, we were a little skeptical, and my husband was even more shocked that I suggested this movie.  Last year I really enjoyed the fairy tale spin off movies.  (see my best and worst for 2012), figured this may fall into those same categories.

This one was a little different.  Lots of gore, (which in 3D is very interesting) a Sci-fi sort of twist (which isn't my favorite) but I was sort of pleasantly surprised.  The acting was pretty good.  I wasn't really familiar with the 3 main players, but they all were great in their parts, (and for all you men...who doesn't love a girl in leather?) I was most impressed with Famke Janssen, she did evil well!  I liked how the story was actually a story and not just a gory witch hunt.  There were some funny parts and some suspenseful parts, and lots of gore, but all in all I was unexpectedly surprised that I liked it.  I can't give it a top notch rating, because by no means did the movie move me in anyway, but I enjoyed my date!

Deb's Rate: Matinee

Friday, February 1, 2013

2013: The Impossible

The Impossible

Genre: Drama

Main Players: Naomi Watts, Ewan McGregor, Tom Holland

General Gist: One family's story about being caught in the 2004 tsunami that hit Thailand.

Tiff's Take: 
A personal tidbit of information about me...Since high school I've had dreams/nightmares about natural disasters on a consistent basis.  It started out with tornadoes.  I'm guessing because I was getting ready to go to college in the Midwest.  Tornadoes were foreign to this Montana girl.  Once I got used to being in the Midwest, tornado nightmares became fewer (and less nightmarish) and I started to have tsunami-ish type nightmares.  Why?  I have no clue.  I've never lived by the ocean (at least not close enough where it would affect me in any way) and most likely never will so maybe it's just the unknown factor.  Who knows.  I'm weird. 

So we decide to go to this movie.  Smart move?  Maybe not.  Sometimes I'm not sure why I do the things I do.  Nevertheless we went and boy was it a doosie.  It was so intense that I hardly had a chance to eat my popcorn!  The underwater scenes made me feel super claustrophobic.  But luckily there were a lot of after the fact scenes that didn't include water.  Lucky being a relative term. 

This movie showed you what it might be like to live out your worst nightmare.  Especially as a parent.  It really gave you a take on this kind of tragedy that I don't think we often see when we're just watching the news.  It was so fascinating in a train wreck kind of way.  You didn't want to watch but you couldn't help yourself.  All the actors did a really great job especially Tom Holland who played the oldest son.  I won't tell you if it ended bad or good or who lived or died but I really think it's worth seeing.  Just keep in mind that it's fairly graphic and not for the light of heart.                     

Tiff's Rate: Friday Night

Deb's Take:  So maybe it runs in the family.  I have dreams about natural disasters as well.  Mine started as fires, next tornadoes, and I won't lie, when I was in Hawaii I looked at the ocean with a sense of fear most of the time...waiting for the Tsunami to hit unexpectedly.  Geesh....So, again why did we pick this movie?  Maybe because it was a true story...Oh great!  Not only a "nightmare" but also factual, making it more scary.

Man, all I can say is, the news doesn't do disaster justice.  What a mess.  I sat in complete and utter shock.  Love your family everyday my friends....every single day!

The movie was very well acted.  I agree with Tiff that Tom Holland was outstanding, as well as Naomi Watts.  The story was pretty suspenseful and kept you on the edge of your seat.  I really did feel like I was watching some one's personal video at times.  An extraordinarily done movie, but be prepared for intense. 

Deb's Rate: Friday Night

Thursday, January 10, 2013

Our Plan for 2013 and a Giveaway

Wow!  I can't believe we actually went two whole years of seeing a movie a week.  (And some!)  How lucky are we to be able to pull that off!?  I have to say, we have pretty great husbands who were willing to put up with our schedule juggling to make it work.

So what's in store for us in 2013?  Well, I'm not sure we're going to be quite so adamant about getting to a movie every week.  We love it.  Don't get us wrong but it can be a little "inconvenient" at times to try to squeeze it in with kids, schedules and life.  If only it could be a full time paying job. 

For now, we're going to go to movies when we like (and can) but probably not every week.  My guess is that we'll still go to more movies than the average person.  If not, we might go through withdrawals.  Seriously.  We're ten days into the new year and I haven't gone to a movie yet.  I'm getting a little fidgety.  And we're still planning on reporting back here for reviews so stay tuned!

So to start the new year off right we thought we might as well have a little giveaway.  Free movie tickets anyone?  If we're not going to a movie someone else better be! 

Here's what's up for grabs.  Two AMC Gold Passes (basically each ticket is good for up to a $12 movie), an AMC small popcorn voucher and two AMC small pop vouchers.  A nice little bundle. 

To enter, just comment on this post with your favorite review we did so far or your favorite movie you saw in 2012.  Or really just say anything you want.  We like to know that people are actually reading this.  :)

We'll announce the winner after our Best/Worse Movies in 2012 post.