Showing posts with label Tom Cruise. Show all posts
Showing posts with label Tom Cruise. Show all posts

Wednesday, June 6, 2012

2012: Week 22: Rock of Ages

Rock of Ages

Genre: Musical, Comedy, Drama

Main Players: Julianne Hough, Diego Boneta, Tom Cruise, Alec Baldwin, Russell Brand, Catherine Zeta-Jones, Malin Akerman, Paul Giamatti

General Gist:  A musical set in the late 80's about a girl from a small Oklahoma town who moves to Hollywood to live her dream of becoming a singer. 

Tiff's Take:
Let's just state the facts here.  I'm a product of the 90's.  I'm not a huge fan of musicals.  (Remember my Joyful Noise review?)  So you can imagine what I might think of this movie.  Well, you can bet you're wrong.  What an interesting little turn of events.  

I was prepared to be slightly entertained but cringing at the style, music, etc. the whole time.  The first scene starts out with a cheesy little rendition on a bus.  Let the cringing begin.  But after I got through the initial shock of watching a musical it all went up hill from there.  First of all, I was surprised by how much I really enjoyed all the songs.  Even though I did most of my growing up years in the 90's I was familiar with 80's music.  So I obviously knew all the songs.  In the movie, let's just say they were so fun.  The way they were put into the scenes were great.  And I think because I am not a product of the 80's I dug the way they poked at the 80's just a little between the more serious stuff. 

As far as the actors, I thoroughly enjoyed Alec Baldwin and Russell Brand.  I love their sense of humor.  Catherin Zeta-Jones was great.  Malin Akerman was great.  Tom Cruise surprisingly worked for me.  His over exaggeration of a slightly washed out 80's rock idol was spot on.  Again, I think I liked the way they poked fun.  Julianne Hough and Diego Boneta were okay, nothing special, but didn't ruin it for me definitely. 

I thought this movie was a good mix of serious/humor/making fun of and overall a fun movie to watch.  Who would have thought?  Now what did my 80's loving sister think?  Ha!   

Tiff's Rate: Friday Night (I'm actually shocked I'm writing that!)

Deb's Take: 
I am a product of the 80's.  I love 80's music, I still listen to 80's music (to my children's demise) I work out to 80's music, I have so many memories when I hear those 80's tunes.  So, I loved loved loved the music in this movie.  It was sort of difficult hearing a different voice to these songs as the actors sang the music, but all in all they did well.  As far as the movie itself, I am a little on the fence. I know it was suppose to be a spoofy type movie, and it was, but they threw in a relationship that was a little too serious with Julianne Hough and Diego Boneta.  I just didn't like the blend of "Let's do overkill on the 80's" and "now lets add this somewhat serious yet cheesy relationship".  That wasn't the kicker though, I just did not like Tom Cruise in his role.  Man, he drove me crazy.  He is not Rock Star material.  I didn't even like him in his role if they were trying to make him look dumb and bad, it was distracting to me. 

On the flip side, I think Alec Baldwin and Russell Brand were hilarious.  Stupid funny of course.  Also, like I mentioned I liked the music.  I liked especially how they played on the music, pitting two songs against each other at times.  Now, remember this is the pop rock of the 80's, so don't expect some out of control 80's flashback of best music, just the stuff that always came on the radio. 

So do I sound committed one way or another?  Ha, that was just the kind of movie it was.

Deb's Rate: Ok, I will give it Friday night. And considering it probably opens on a Friday night, you might as well go.

Preview: There's a good chance we'll be seeing Snow White and the Huntsman.  Has anyone seen it yet?

Thursday, January 12, 2012

Bonus Review: Mission: Impossible - Ghost Protocol

Mission: Impossible - Ghost Protocol

Genre: Action

Main Players: Tom Cruise, Jeremy Renner, Simon Pegg, Paula Patton, Michael Nyqvist

General Gist: Another addition to the Mission Impossible movies. Ethan Hunt's (Tom Cruise) team is shut down and goes rogue to finish their mission.

Tiff's Take:
Another Mission Impossible. How many has there even been? I feel like a ton but I think this is the fourth. Don't quote me on that though. I don't usually get too excited when I see a preview for a new Mission Impossible. Action movies don't get me all hot and bothered. Usually I can miss one and it doesn't hurt my feelings one bit. My husband on the other hand loves a good action movie. Especially one that involves cars and cool gadgets. Needless to say, he wanted to go with me to this one. And I was more than happy to oblige. I love it when he gets excited about a movie. Just like he loves it when I get excited about buying a new car. Oh wait...that never happens. Anyway, off to the movie we went. (And with good friends mind you.) Week 1 in 2012 and I have already gotten to see two movies. Life is good.

So, as impartial as I was about going to this movie I have to say that I really enjoyed it. That's usually how it works though. Don't care if I go to an action movie but usually end up liking it anyway. No exception here. This one has some really good action, good tricks and good humor. What more could you ask for? I was a little worried that Tom Cruise just wouldn't work anymore in this role. He just seems so out there lately and I don't even remember the last movie I saw him in. Well, I guess there's a reason why he does what he does. No matter what you think about him personally he's still got it in movies. I loved all the other actors as well. Especially the token funny guy played by Simon Pegg. If any of you guys out there care about car chase scenes, apparently this one involved an electric car. Russ wasn't completely sold but said it did the job.

I would definitely recommend this one. Especially to please the man in your life. Hopefully Deb will be able to see this with her hubby.

Deb's Take:
Well, my husband and I got to go out for an afternoon date, (thanks Tiff for keeping the kids entertained!) and we went to Mission Impossible. (It came highly recommended from a good source.)

I totally agree with Tiff. This movie was actually quite rockin! I will admit, I am not a great big Tom Cruise fan...I know, I should be based on my age, and yes in Top Gun he was a hottie for me, but as I have wisely aged I have come to the realization that I am not really impressed with him all that much. I feel like he always has the same sort of characters and uses his movies as an adrenalin rush most of the time. I think I was most impressed with Jeremy Renner. I really liked him in this movie. I don't remember any of the other films he has played in, I even looked them up and nothing really sprang out at me, but he did an exceptional job!

Some of the tricks action scenes in this movie were awesome. I also enjoyed all the scenery of the different cities in the world. By far the coolest scene though was the parking garage scene. It's amazing what is out there in the world!

I would say...go see it! Best movie of the year for me so far...okay so there has only been 2 official and then this bonus, but still, I am just saying....